(FMF Friday) Morning

image

 

It’s time again to write for five minutes with my pals from the Five Minute Friday community. The prompt this week is morning. Let’s do this thing…

Music is a very important part of my life. I start out out my morning with some classical music playing while I’m drinking my coffee and making sure that my son is up and getting ready for school. As soon as I climb in my car I reach for the knob and turn on my Sirius radio. It has so many channels with lots of choices. I sing my little heart out on the drive.

Since music is such a big part of my day most prompts will automatically make a song come to my mind. This week was no different. The song that came to my mind was “Give Me Jesus” by Jeremy Camp.

“In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise

Give me Jesus.
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.

When I am alone,
When I am alone,
When I am alone,
Give me Jesus.

When I come to die,
When I come to die,
When I come to die,
Give me Jesus.

Give me Jesus.
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.”

I pray that this song will always be my mantra. I want to wake up in the morning with Jesus on my mind. I want to start the day with the knowledge that no matter what life throws at me I’ve got Jesus. He will have my back through thick and thin, through joy and heartbreak, through ups and downs. He will be with me when I’m in a crowd or when I feel terribly alone. He’s gonna love me and call me a daughter even if I turn my back on him.When I come to the end of my journey on this old earth I’m going to close my eyes here and open them up in the presence of the One who died for me. All I can say is wow!!!  Well that and thank You, Jesus!!!

 

29 thoughts on “(FMF Friday) Morning

  1. Jeremy’s version of that song is beautiful. I always start my mornings listening to my fave contemporary Christian station on my Pandora. I’m over in the #14 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the coffee cup in your header photo! 🙂 I love that you can connect a song to every prompt. I hope you find yourself singing happy songs this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE Jeremy Camp. His music is so inspiring. Saw him in concert a few years ago- incredible. Music is a brain changer- literally. So glad you start your day with uplifting and positive songs. Visiting from FMF #35. Have a super, awesome weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes and Amen to this, Lynette: “Just give me Jesus.” It’s also the title of a book by Ann Graham Lotz and one I loved reading. Music is a great way to begin a day with joy and praise. I really need to try to listen more and let it soothe and lift my spirits. Thank you for this insight into your days. 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynette, so sorry it’s taken me a few days to get over here. I so enjoy that song by Jeremy Camp. I’m with you. I hope my first thought each morning is of Jesus. And I’ve been thinking more about what it will be like to close my eyes for the final time here on earth with the next opening of them in heaven. I can’t quite imagine that yet.

    Thanks for the musical post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The song I often sing in the morning is Ten Thousand Reasons with the first line being, “The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning. It’s time to sing your song again…” Good post! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Music heals. Its the only way I can face a morning. Well, that and coffee(:
    I have to say you got one part wrong, though.
    You don’t have a little heart. You have big heart!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lynnette, I’m not sure I’ve heard his version. I heard it first recorded by Fernando Ortega on his purple album while in college. It’s such a sweet song. And somber at the same time, growing from first light to final breath.
    So thankful for music and this language of love that God shares with us!! (And thankful for you and your comments. I apologize at the length of time between your comment and mine)
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#56 for “morning)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment