(FMF Friday) Forget

It’s Five Minute Friday time…well, Sunday for me – but I am finally getting it done. Today’s prompt is forget. This is what I got this time around because it’s a rainy day and my mind is going back. Please bear with me.

 

 

image

 

Forget…

I’m never going to forget that time. Forever emblazoned on my mind.

5:57 on a Saturday night.

At the movies with your sister. My phone vibrates and I look down.

It’s you. I hit ignore – figuring you’ll call your dad – and go back to watching.

I didn’t try you back that evening…didn’t figure you would answer me on a Saturday night anyways. Had happened that way so many times before.

The next day you were gone.

If I had answered would you still be here today? There’s really no way of knowing.

I’m so very sorry…

 

***Please always take time for the ones you love. Unfortunately you never know when they won’t be there anymore.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “(FMF Friday) Forget

  1. Oh, that’s terribly sad and sobering! Yes, that is something and someone you will never forget! My heart goes out to you… still even after 4 years from the time of incident. Those kinds of things stay fresh in the mind. Big hugs and love to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynette, I’m so sorry. We truly never know how long we have with those we love most. In the midst of pre-teen craziness, I sometimes forget to spend a few moments with my boys and just BE with them. Thank you for the exhortation to keep them as my top priorities. I’m praying for you today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing part of your story. Because of this, I’m on my way to snuggle with my baby girl (just turned four) because she still lets me! It’s almost 11 at night here and I should go to bed, but I know I won’t regret the snuggles.

    Visiting from five minute friday (or Tuesday!). Blessings, friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Adding you to my prayer journal for peace and comfort. Life is never the same. So thankful for the gift of remembering, even when it hurts. I am a new blogger, too. So glad we could connect through FMF. Have a super, awesome week. Will see you tomorrow @ FMF!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh. Dear. Oh, my dear. I don’t know you yet, but I know that you are very dear.
    I am so so sorry for your loss.
    Glad you stopped at my blog which encouraged me to jump over here.
    Sending hugs your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am so sorry for your loss, Lynette! There really are no words to express how sorry. Such words don’t exist. My heart breaks. May God bless you with His peace, the kind that surpasses all understanding and may the sweetest memories you have of your son be the strongest in your mind and in your heart. May all the times you answered right away, not only the phone calls but the call of his voice, be remembered and treasured and not overshadowed by that one moment in time. And may you remember that love, that mother and son indescribable love, in such complete clarity that it encompasses you and reminds you to love yourself the way he loved you. You deserve that love and I believe he would want you to feel it right now. May God bless you today and always!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. He is so handsome. I know this was very difficult for you to even write…but I think you needed to. Here’s what I’ll always remember:
    The call from you while you were at church. I felt your fear and despair.
    The way your daughter stepped in and comforted her little brother.
    Kneeling on your gardening mat on the hardwood floor and crying out to God to help you.
    The sound of your wailing, and Jeff holding you in his arms.
    Hearing How Great Is Our God for the opening of the memorial service and feeling a peaceful reassurance that God was in control still and your son was loved and safe while we were mourning him.
    Seeing all those kids come out and pay tribute to him.
    The strength that you and Jeff had.
    The absolute certainty that something good would come of this tragedy.

    And I see now the uselessness of regret or “what it’s”…because there is always a plan.
    Jesus said in John 13:7 “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”

    I love you, my beautiful brave sister.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

