(FMF Friday) Weary

image

My sister and I were talking via text this morning – as we often do – and she asked me if I was going to write anything new for my blog today. See, I had just recently told her that I had started this blog and she has been encouraging me to use it to release some of my feelings. I proceeded to tell her that today’s prompt was the word ‘weary’ and that I  could probably say a lot about that word right now. I told her that I just didn’t really know exactly how to word it without giving out TMI. She gave me a little pep talk about how I didn’t need to go into specifics and how she felt like God had led me to the Five Minute Friday folks (and Christy in particular – since she is the one who sat with me and led me through starting this blogging adventure) because He knew I needed it right now. Her two little texts served as a starting point for me on this Friday. I wish to share them with you:

“Here’s a starting spot for you: It’s no coincidence that the root word of ‘weary’  is ‘wear’. Stuff wears out, stuff wears on your nerves, you wear stress like a coat. It weighs you down. You can get weary from wearing your problems and letting them weigh you down. Pray about them and shed them. Take ’em off. The longer your dwell on them the more weary you become.”

“If you have an item of clothing on that is making you you uncomfortable (your bra for example) you take it off as quick as you can. Yet we insist on wearing our worries that drag us down and hold us back like they were fine jewels or some such. Why can’t we children just trust God and shed the troubles and worries that are making us weary?”

I realized then that she was totally right. I am very weary right now due to worrying myself silly about some stuff going on in my life. I’m mentally exhausted and bent down from worry. I pray over and over about things, but then get right back up and worry some more. Why can’t I take God at His Word?

“For I have satiated  the weary soul, and  I have replenished  every sorrowful soul.” — Jeremiah 31:25

Thank you, sweet little sister, for motivating me today (I know you’ll be reading this 😜). And I think your words prove that YOU are the writer in the fam.

 

 

23 thoughts on “(FMF Friday) Weary

  1. Love that. What a brilliant yet totally simple analogy. “You can get weary from wearing your problems and letting them weigh you down.” SO much yes. Thank you (and your sister 🙂 ) for the much needed reminder!

    and also: she’s right about using your blog to release feelings. Writing is so cathartic. You don’t have to wait for an FMF prompt to do it, either. 😉

    Love you friend. ❤ in the #11 spot this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To use a word you taught me:
    P’shaw.
    I just said what God pressed on my heart that He wanted you to know but you couldnt hear… because you’re so weary that its difficult to discern what’s what.
    Now…thats what im talkin about! When you get on here, i get the feeling that you are among friends, and they want to share…lifting one another up. God brought you ALL together for a reason. Dont you ever be afraid to share. You have a beautiful heart and soul and you need to let them shine. You help me, reading these. I am so beyond proud of you and thankful for you! Youre the best sister evah! I love you!
    You did a FINE job today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sweet sister you have. And she’s so right…life does wear on us. It’s been wearing on me too. But I need to remember to take it to God. God will give us rest when we are weary. I’m in the #6 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Darling Lynette, I wish I could hug you right now. You are so precious. Know that the Lord sees you, hears you, and is with you every step of the way. He’s quite happy to sit and listen to all of your fears. More than that, He’s more than willing to shoulder the load for you. And beyond that – He carries you close to His heart. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynnette,
    thank you for three things: For your bravery in blogging, For joining Five Minute Friday, and for coming over to say hi (and leaving a link so I could come over here and say Wow.)
    This was beautiful and I love the play on words. Truly, you are not the only one who carries more than she needs to! 🙂
    We’re so glad to have you taking part over here! And, you even posted on Bacon! That’s brave in itself!
    Thank you again for your beautiful words and encouragement. I’m so delighted that I could pour encouragement into a weary season for you! 🙂
    Love,
    Tammy
    (tammysincerity)
    #12 this week

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful words, Lynette! So glad you decided to start a blog because I can already tell you are great with words and talking through life stuff. I was afraid to start writing publicly, but it has been so good… healing and freeing. And I know God had been pushing me to write. Don’t let fear stop you! I’ve been stuck in my own set of worries too. Trying to pray and trust and not worry. Some days are easier than others. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love a good play on words and this one was so good and so helpful. Thanks so much – I love your honesty and that you share from your heart. Your writing is lovely and there may be a time when what you think is TMI is exactly what someone needs to hear to help them with their stuff. This scripture came to mind when reading your post “For Christ himself is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility” Eph 2:14 Looking forward to reading more of your lovely posts :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

