(FMF Friday) Green

I have have thought and thought on “green”. Racked my brain to come up with something. Then this came to mind:

The Lord is my Shepherd…I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures, He leadeth me beside the still waters…”

The 23rd Psalm has been my go-to psalm for most of my life. I memorized it as a child in Sunday School and recite the King James Version of it to myself when I’m scared, sick, upset, sad, depressed, or having doubts of any kind. The passage encourages me greatly.  I am so thankful for the promise that my Father in Heaven Has made…that He will lead me, restore me, comfort me, prepare a table for me, anoint me, and allow me to dwell in His presence forever someday.

As someone who has experienced the death of both parents and a child I have indeed walked through the valley of the shadow of death. It is such a blessing to know that my Shepherd came alongside me through the valley…that He was faithful to His promise in this psalm. I would highly recommend this psalm be memorized – as it can be used through one’s lifetime to get us through to that glorious day when there will be no more tears or sorrow and we will spend all of eternity with Jesus.image

8 thoughts on “(FMF Friday) Green

  1. You said this beautifully, and as I am walking through that Valley at the moment – and I will not emerge in this reality – I do find the 23rd comforting.

    Something else to which I turn is the opening from Yamamoto Tsusenori’s “Hagakure” (upon which Bushido is based) – “A Samurai should live in such a way that he is always prepared to die.”

    Not bad advice for a Christian, either (and there were Christian Samurai!).

    #3 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2015/10/your-dying-spouse-70-green-with-envy-fmf.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

